Administering domain's website only

Discussion in 'Domain Names' started by Impel GD, Oct 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Impel GD Graphic and Web Design

I'm not very good with domain/DNS/MX records etc. so would appreciate your guidance.

A new client already has registered his domain and set up an email account with a third party, but would like me to handle the hosting for his website. What do I need to request that the third party do? Can we point his domain to my HU webspace without leaving his current email account redundant?

Many thanks.
  2. Rikard Guest

Dns ....

Just change the DNS 'A' record (assuming you register or park the domain to the HU hosting) - the MX mail records will continue to do their job as before.

*EDIT* The only 'problem' I encounter with my non HU registered domain is that mail sent from HU servers stays on the mail system of the server I am on. I just set up another pop account to collect it in tandem with what existed before I saw the 'HU light'

HTH
  3. Impel GD Graphic and Web Design

Thanks

:eek: Wow; that was quick Rikard. Do you keep a window open on this forum pressing the refresh button every couple of minutes?

So the A record needs to be changed to the HU server IP address? And I just set up a new account for the domain in WHM as normal?
  4. Rikard Guest

Dns ....

Caught it out of the corner of my eye as I'd just walked back in here!

If you set the record 'A' record in WHM to the IP ADDRESS of the server you are on it will work. I don't have WHM but helped a HU user who does have this to do exactly what you are doing so I know it works.

FYI the MX records behave very seperately.

:)
  5. Impel GD Graphic and Web Design

Right. But setting the A record of the domain is something that only the third party registrar can do as they're in control of it? Or is editing DNS something that I need to do in WHM as well?

Sorry if I'm being simple here.
  6. Rikard Guest

Dns